top of page

"I love democracy" - Palpatine

*drops in from above*

Hello there.

This month was quite nice here at Offy D corp, probably because not having to make Fields of Mars and going through the process of a vote for its replacement gave me a bit of extra free time. As a result, the greatest video game of all time is looking better than ever, but more on that later if I remember.

So this vote was dominated by the themes of shooting people, with the leading ideas being Britain invades Japan in the 1850s, or the Thirteen Colonies (pre-USA USA) invades Britain in the 1700s. In the end the former option won out, much to the outrage of most of the comments on the matter. It seems that dastardly silent majority wins again, picking an option that is so perilously similar to not only a series I've done before but the other one I'm doing right now, that I'm going to have to contrive as much originality as possible.

Similar, and yet with a new twist (I laughed at this for a very long time when I first saw it, and I still don't know why)

I think most likely it will end up being an overly-British mockery sort of affair, with plenty of stiff upper lip and offensively polite discourse (or indeed politely offensive). This coming week will be the one where I really start putting it together by making an introductory video to sit on the front of the first episode. Then ze shoosting begins!

I don't know if this will be any good, but we can blame the vote if it sucks so there you go - number 1 reason for democracy has been stumbled upon already. I hope it can be made good somehow because Barbarian Masters is just getting into the boring part of any total war campaign: the middle-late bit. Millions of identical battles lie between you and a point where you can say "I definitely would win from here", and once you've done the first couple of you start to suspect you'll win them all. BUT YA NEVER KNOW. Maybe a naval invasion will slip past my extremely slippery net of naval patrols and make some surprises happen.

Anyone can be surprised, not matter how sure they are

While that's been going on there's been more shooting in the form of a new TIC series I'm making entitled 'The Prole Hunter'. It's as amazing as it sounds. I'm using the hilariously constructed Red Wars mod for Mount and Blade to have a high and mighty rich man maraud around early 20th century europe with a machine gun and bandolier of grenades on a one man mission to rid the world of poverty one poor person at a time.

BLOODY PROLES

We all have to pass the time somehow don't we?

Also continuing with my Star Wars KOTOR series, which right now probably has about 20 eps of material filmed with about 70% of the game done - gonna be a long one, so EVERYONE better like it. It's been enjoyable to make, except for my humiliating performance on the puzzles, one of which nearly drove me insane with its sheer impossibility until I noticed you can just pull a lever in the corner of the room and that's it. Oh. OH. I DEMAND A REFUND.

Playing a dark side character is fun because your party in general is light side, and so has to continually contrive excuses to not notice what you are doing, even when you've got weird evil eyes and are decked out in ancient sith gear. Guess it was too much writing for there to be any major deviations from the plot path, so I'm just an obvious sith lord working for the Jedi council to stop the Sith (and succeeding). It's all good.

(NOTE: FOR SOME REASON THE MEMES I COLLECTED THIS MONTH WERE ALL STAR WARS ONES)

Oh some more good news (for me): in January I think I'll end up having nearly broken even again, and January is the hardest month to make money on the internet, so unless I lose all my patrons once the new series turns out to be awful, the dream of Break-Even-2018 is still alive. One day I won't be offended by people on the internet saying that $12.99 is cheap for a video game. BUT IT'S DOUBLE FIGURES WHAT WERE YOU NOT RAISED IN A BARN?!

is this star wars?

Finally I shall mention that indeed the greatest game of all time, currently called Godless Tactics but known by it's codename PROJECT ICE EMBLEM is actually approaching an almost alpha sort of state. As well as greatly expanded the map, I've got things to a point where the game is near-finishable in a very rough way. Lots of testing and further additions are needed before I dare let anyone actually try playing it, but its a good milestone on the horizon. Here's a super zoomed out shot of a large part of the finished map, with unfinished voids visible here and there:

They're alive down there I tell you! Industrious folk.

The other milestone on the horizon will be the updating of the graphics with new tilesets, and once that happens I'll probably start spamming more screenshots about the place.

I suppose that's all the news really. Next month I'll complain about the new series or something to pad it out more. See you next time!

p.s. in other news I'm amazing at Mario Kart and also I have collected 60 apples in Breath of the Wild and I've never been so ready to make 20 plates of 'Simmered Fruit' if it ever stops raining long enough to cook. Special thanks to the distant New Zealander who lent us the Switch!

Best memes are pseudo-memes

bottom of page