top of page

Actual Channel News September 2020

Just a quick one where I'll talk about actual channel news for once.

On the narrative front, the Stelarris series will be ending in either chapter 16 or 17, i.e. over the next couple of weeks. Been fun to write! It was even possible to end it in chapter 15, but I got carried away writing about the details of a relatively inconsequential extra-dimensional invasion. I was taken aback by how the game itself really doesn't make a big deal about it happening, and in chapter 15 I have a part talking about how strange it is none of the other 'players' ask you to help stop this 'crisis'. I come away from Stellaris with very much the same sense of being underwhelmed as I got in the beginning. Without the Gigastructural Engineering mod that someone recommended, I can't see there being much to do in the game! And the sci-fi setting seems to be nearly unused, focusing more on throwing out bigger numbers from your number generation screens. WHHHAAAA COMPLAIN COMPLAIN.

Should have made it a love story. Hey Star Wars, that thing doesn't need a crew that big. Who wrote this trash lore?

With the abridged series series, I have finished making Troy, at a mere 7 parts. The campaign ends more rapidly than I thought as a result of some weird AI occurances, and I didn't feel like carrying on just to get more content out of it. Instead, it will be replaced with the new Three Kingdoms DLC, The Furious Wild. You might notice a pattern here - Devin played two things ALMOST as they came out. This is part of my new half-step plan to get algorithm-senpai to notice me. Figured that actually following waves of interest in things out in the so-called 'real world' might increase the chance of my videos being discovered. Obviously it's a bit of an oppourtunity cost thing, because such effects benefit the largest creators in each space the most, therefore it might be better to focus on what big creators aren't doing in order to be the biggest channel doing that. But hey, big creators aren't editing their LPs, and even after these 6 or 7 years, that hasn't got me any more growth than they. COMPLAIN COMPLAIN.

But we're trying this, just in case. And also I've just started a Fall of the Samurai abridged series, as it was the winner of a recent channel vote thing. I put on the channel vote the option to so reviewish impressions type abridged things like I did with Troy on other games, but it did surprisingly badly. I hoped it would do well, since it could again be a way to get exposure. The classic conundrum: to do what my audience wants, or try and get more audience from somewhere else. Luckily for the voters, I don't have time ot play anything other than what I go for the current footage cycles, so I guess new games will struggle. In fact I have missed the release of Crusader Kings 3 for just this reason, horray! I suppose that's the upside of not editing LP videos - you can just make them in real time and cover things the day they appear. Can we all just agree that no one else will release videos for a week, except me, then I can work out whether its competition keeping me down, or just straight up the algorithm? Sign this contract please. Come on!

And I'm not even an anime maid. Could it get any worse?

For the last couple of weeks I have failed to work on The Fire Margin novel version due to lack of time, and this week will be no exception. Large amounts of Kings and Generals recordings, combined with abridged campaigns that need heavy abridging to be good, have slowed my regular productions down. My usual half a day a week of time for extra projects keeps going away - and this week, writing this BLASTED blog isn't helping. COMPLAIN COMPLAIN.

Another extra project I was planning for this week that's been pushed back was making a youtube ad for Godless Tactics and actually paying to get it on turn based tactics videos. No idea whether it's worth the money, but I'd like to try and push it more. It's a good game, so if I make a video claiming as such, people might get tricked into buying it. Plus, my youtube ad will be better than 90% of the gaming ads for terrible mobile games, and those seem to work well enough for those companies to keep spamming them. Well, we'll see if I get around to it; something to be hopeful about!

IT'S TACTICS O'CLOCK, BUY MY SCHLOCK

4 minutes until the next thing on my schedule. We're running a tight ship at Offy D Corp. Better get the posting done and get outta here, so cya, thanks for stopping by!

ALSO I WANT TO MAKE ANOTHER VIDEO GAME. MAYBE IN THE NEXT LIFE.

Me stuck at 30K subscribers for years. COMPLAIN COMPLAIN

bottom of page